Thursday, September 18, 2014

UAAP Season 77: Blue Eagles Win Top Individual Honors

Kiefer Ravena and Arvin Tolentino of the Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles are your Most Valuable Player and Rookie of the Year, respectively, in Men's Basketball for UAAP Season 77. They are the first Blue Eagle teammates to win MVP and ROY in the same year since Rabeh Al-Hussaini and Ryan Buenafe accomplished the feat in 2008.

UAAP Season 77: Ateneo Blue Eagles vs. NU Bulldogs, July 26
[Photo credit: Inboundpass]

Ravena earned his first MVP trophy in Men's Basketball after averaging 21.2 points (1st in the league), 5.9 rebounds, 5.6 assists (1st in the league), and 1.5 steals (2nd in the league) per game in towing his team to a league-best 11-3 card and the top Final Four seed after the elimination round.

He is the first Blue Eagle to win MVP honors since Al-Hussaini in 2008.

UAAP Season 77: Ateneo Blue Eagles vs. FEU Tamaraws, Aug. 3
[Photo credit: Inboundpass]

Tolentino was 22nd and the highest-placed freshman in the MVP rankings with his averages of 8.0 points and 5.6 rebounds per game after the eliminations. He is the first Blue Eagle to win the ROY trophy since Ravena did it in 2011.

It's time to chase the biggest trophy of them all, guys.

No comments:

Post a Comment

IMPORTANT: Please be mindful of this blog's Comments Policy when posting your comments.