Tuesday, December 7, 2010

I'll Never Tire Of Seeing This

PCCL 2010 Finals Game 3: Ateneo Blue Eagles vs. Adamson Falcons, Dec. 6, 2010
[Photo credit: Joseph Nebrida for Inboundpass.]

The Ateneo Blue Eagles lost the University Games crown two months ago, but they bounced back and repeated as Philippine Collegiate Champions League champs. What a way to end another banner year for Ateneo basketball.
Ateneo Eagles keep soaring, cop PCCL title
Jasmine W. Payo
Philippine Daily Inquirer

MANILA—One more crown to cap another stellar season.

Kirk Long’s hot shooting kept Ateneo’s offensive machine humming in the second half and the Blue Eagles went on to down the Adamson Falcons, 73-67, yesterday to capture their second straight Philippine Collegiate Champions League title.

Near-perfect from three-point range, Long produced a game-high 25 points while tournament MVP Nico Salva also came up with big numbers in the winner-take-all Game 3 at the FilOil Flying V Arena in San Juan.

“Maybe people are tired already of seeing us win, but we’re not,” said Ateneo coach Norman Black, after his three-time UAAP champions wrapped up the best-of-three title series with a second straight win.

Full story…
Thanks to DLSU the much-anticipated duel of 2010 UAAP and NCAA titlists Ateneo and San Beda didn't materialize in the PCCL, but a win is a win. The Manuel V. Pangilinan perpetual trophy will stay in Loyola Heights for a second straight year.

With their third PCCL win in four years the Blue Eagles extended the UAAP's domination of this tournament. All eight stagings have been won by UAAP squads. More importantly, the Blue Eagles are now the winningest team in PCCL history, just ahead of UE and FEU who each have two titles.

No comments:

Post a Comment

IMPORTANT: Please be mindful of this blog's Comments Policy when posting your comments.