Saturday, September 27, 2008

UAAP Season 71: Closing The Books

This is most likely the last post about the Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles in Season 71 of the UAAP.

I really am going to miss the basketball tournament, if only because it was a good source for at least one post a week. Now that it's over I'm going to be hard-pressed for things to blog about, hehe.

Obviously, Ateneo's 2008 run was magical. The season's highlights are too numerous: sweeping La Salle for the championship, winning all four games against the Green Archers, losing only once the entire tournament, Blue Eagles copping all major individual awards... The list goes on and on.

This last post, then, is about recording for posterity the team's near-perfect run in Season 71.

First off, the people responsible:
4 Yuri Escueta
5 Jai Reyes
6 Chris Sumalinog
7 Nonoy Baclao
8 Bacon Austria
10 Jobe Nkemakolam
11 Eric Salamat
12 Kirk Long
13 Ryan Buenafe
14 Nico Salva
15 Vince Burke
16 Mike Baldos
17 Chris Tiu
18 Justin Chua
19 Rabeh Al-Hussaini
20 Tonino Gonzaga

Head Coach
Norman Black

Assistant Coaches
Gene Afable
Sandy Arespacochaga
Jamike Jarin
Gabby Severino
This, meanwhile, was the Blue Eagles' route to the championship:
Eliminations, First Round
Sunday, 6 July 2008, 79-73 win over DLSU
Thursday, 10 July 2008, 72-48 win over AdU
Sunday, 13 July 2008, 64-58 win over UE
Saturday, 19 July 2008, 83-66 win over UP
Sunday, 27 July 2008, 74-62 win over NU
Thursday, 31 July 2008, 66-72 loss to FEU
Sunday, 3 August 2008, 64-57 win over UST

Eliminations, Second Round
Saturday, 9 August 2008, 78-74 win over FEU
Thursday, 14 August 2008, 85-76 win over UST
Sunday, 17 August 2008, 78-59 win over AdU
Thursday, 21 August 2008, 61-57 win over UE
Sunday, 24 August 2008, 79-58 win over UP
Saturday, 30 August 2008, 83-58 win over NU
Saturday, 6 September 2008, 65-57 win over DLSU

Final Four
Sunday, 14 September 2008, 70-50 win over UE

Sunday, 21 September 2008, 69-61 win over DLSU
Thursday, 25 September 2008, 62-51 win over DLSU
These were the standings after the eliminations:
ADMU Blue Eagles (13-1)
DLSU Green Archers (10-4)
FEU Tamaraws (10-4)
UE Red Warriors (9-5)
UST Golden Tigers (6-8)
UP Maroons (3-11)
AdU Falcons (3-11)
NU Bulldogs (2-12)
Lastly, these are the Blue Eagles who stood out:
Rabeh Al-Hussaini
Most Valuable Player
Most Improved Player
Champ of the Season
Member, Mythical Team

Nonoy Baclao
Finals Most Valuable Player
Defensive Player of the Year

Ryan Buenafe
Rookie of the Year
Member, All-Rookie Team

Eric Salamat
Court Colonel Award

Nico Salva
Member, All-Rookie Team

Chris Tiu
Maaasahan Player
Member, Mythical Team
There, that ought to do it. See you next season.

No comments:

Post a Comment

IMPORTANT: Please be mindful of this blog's Comments Policy when posting your comments.